

Gelebrating Excellence

2020 Faculty and Staff Awards Luncheon

March 19, 2020





https://uta.engineering/60/

External Awards and Recognitions

Fellows

Ashfaq Adnan (MAE) American Society of Mechanical Engineers

Gautam Das (CSE/DOE) Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers

> Maria Konsta-Gdoutos (CE) European Academy of Sciences

Luca Maddalena (MAE) Royal Aeronautical Society

Kytai Nguyen (BE) Biomedical Engineering Society

Michael Vasilyev (EE) International Society for Optics and Photonics

Inductees

Dereje Agonafer (MAE) Thermal Hall of Fame

Surendra Shah (CE) Academy of Athens

Surendra Shah (CE) National Academy of Inventors Nominees for University and System Awards for 2020

> Academy of Distinguished Teachers David Hullender Melanie Sattler

> > Minnie Stevens Piper Award Victoria Chen

President's Award for Excellence in Teaching Nur Yazdani (Tenured Faculty) Mohsen Shahandashti (Tenure Track Faculty)

Provost's Award for Excellence in Teaching Chris McMurrough

University Award for Distinguished Record of Research or Creative Activity D.J. Seo

University Award for Outstanding Research Achievement or Creative Accomplishment Yan Wan

Best of luck to each of these nominees

and

Congratulations to all of today's honorees.

2020 Faculty and Staff Awards 2020 Faculty

College of Engineering Annual Awards

Fay Van Dam Outstanding Staff Award Jamie Thompson (CE)

Dean's Award for Staff Excellence Sherri Gotcher (CSE)

College of Engineering Outstanding Early Career Faculty Award Nick Fang (CE)

> College of Engineering Excellence in Research Award Yi Hong (BE)

> Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Excellence in Teaching Award Ashfaq Adnan (MAE)

College of Engineering Teaching Award Chris McMurrough (CSE) Melanie Sattler (CE) External Awards and Recognitions

Heat Transfer Memorial Award Dereje Agonafer (MAE) American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)

> Howard University Alumni Award Dereje Agonafer (MAE)

FMD John Bardeen Award James Coleman (EE) The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS)

Distinguished Leadership Award Sharareh Kermanshachi (CE) Design+Build Institute of America

Rising Star in Civil & Structural Engineering

Sharareh Kermanshachi (CE) Civil and Structural Engineering

Women in Technology Award

Fillia Makedon (CSE) Dallas Business Journal

Young Professional Emerging Leader Award

Rassel Raihan (MAE) Society for the Advancement of Material and Process Engineering (SAMPE)

Institute of Industrial & Systems Engineers

Jamie Rogers (IMSE) President, 2019-20

University and System Awards and Recognitions

Provost's Award for Excellence in Teaching Robert Taylor (MAE)

University Award for Distinguished Record of Research or Creative Activity Stathis Meletis (MSE)

University Award for Outstanding Research Achievement or Creative Accomplishment Michael Vasilyev (EE)

Academy of Distinguished Scholars

Dereje Agonafer (MAE) <mark>Surendra Shah (CE)</mark> Baohong Yuan (BE)

Academy of Distinguished Teachers

Simon Chao (CE) Victoria Chen (IMSE)

Outstanding Academic Faculty Advisor Award

Srinivas Prabakar (CE) Bonnie Boardman (IMSE) *Runner Up*

Outstanding Professional Advisor Award

Pauline Mason (EE) Runner Up Melissa Rose (CSE) Honorable Mention

SAC Star of the Month

Sherri Gotcher (CSE) February 2019 Melissa Rose (CSE) April 2019

2020 Service Awards

(Jan. 1-Dec. 31, 2019)

10 Years

Hyeok Choi (CE) Christoph Csallner (CSE) Stefan Dancila (MAE) Sajib Datta (CSE) Kyungseo Park (CSE) Alexandra Stefan (CSE) Richard Zercher (IMSE)

15 Years

Delania Gordon (MAE) Sahadat Hossain (CE) Bahram Khalili (CSE) Daejong Kim (MAE) Yonghe Liu (CSE) Jay Rosenberger (IMSE) Kimetha Williams (IMSE) Weidong Zhou (EE)

20 Years

Dereje Agonafer (MAE) Sharma Chakravarthy (CSE) Steve Gibbs (EE/DOE) Laureano Hoyos (CE) Janice Moore (EE) Melanie Sattler (CE) Liping Tang (BE)

25 Years

Bito Irie (CSE) Belinda Tarrant (CSE)

30 Years

Pranesh Aswath (MSE/Provost's Office) Brian Huff (IMSE) Frank Lewis (EE) Robert Magnusson (EE) Saibun Tjuatja (EE)

35 Years

Khosrow Behbehani (BE) Alan Davis (EE) Bo Wang (MAE) Bob Weems (CSE)

40 Years George Kondraske (EE)

45 Years Dave Davis (DOE)

50 Years

William Dillon (EE) David Hullender (MAE) Lynn Peterson (CSE/DOE)

55 Years

Abdolhossein Haji-Sheikh (MAE) Kamisetty Rao (EE)